Darts Premier League line-up confirmed after Gerwyn Price wins world title

The Daily Star’s FREE newsletter is spectacular! Sign up today for the best stories straight to your inbox

The ten players to compete in the darts Premier League have been confirmed following Gerwyn Price’s maiden World Championship victory.

Price beat Gary Anderson at Alexandra Palace to become the first Welshman to lift the trophy.

Both finalists will be in the Premier League, though the 'Challengers' format will not return for a third consecutive campaign.

PDC chief executive Matt Porter admitted: "It's not something we're looking at at the moment, no.

"We will certainly announce the players [Premier League] after the final, but the idea at the moment is to keep options open, because if things have to change, then we don't want to be committed to something we can't uphold."

Only nine players were confirmed on Sunday evening with Porter leaving one spot open for now.

The Premier League will not begin in the traditional February slot amid the coronavirus pandemic, instead being set to start around Easter.

World finalists Price and Anderson make it in, as well as Michael van Gerwen and Peter Wright.

Reigning champion Glen Durrant, Rob Cross, and Nathan Aspinall are also in while Dimitri Van den Bergh and Jose de Sousa will make their Premier League debuts.

A PDC statement read: “The tenth player will be confirmed following The Masters, which is to be played as scheduled at the end of January.

  • Gary Anderson slams Wayne Mardle for promoting spoiling tactics after his retirement threat

“Due to current restrictions during the coronavirus pandemic, the start of the 2021 Premier League season is now expected to begin around Easter, with details of any rearranged dates to be confirmed in due course.

“The tournament had been set to commence in February in Cardiff, with further league nights planned in Dublin, Newcastle, Rotterdam, Exeter, Belfast, Nottingham and Manchester before Judgement Night in Brighton on April 1.”

Premier League Darts line-up

Gerwyn Price

Michael van Gerwen

Peter Wright

Glen Durrant

Gary Anderson

Rob Cross

Nathan Aspinall

Jose De Sousa

Dimitri van den Bergh


  • Darts
  • Gerwyn Price
  • Michael van Gerwen
  • Peter Wright
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Premier League

Source: Read Full Article