Titane Director Makes History as Second Female Palm dOr Winner at Cannes 2021

Julia Ducournau is celebrating as she wins big with her French-Belgian drama thriller, landing one of the coveted prizes at the closing night gala of the Cannes International Film Festival.

AceShowbizJulia Ducournau‘s “Titane” made history as she landed the coveted Cannes Film Festival Palme d’Or prize at the 2021 event’s closing night gala on Saturday (17Jul21).

The movie’s big win was prematurely announced at the top of the prizegiving ceremony by Jury President Spike Lee when he was asked to reveal the festival’s first award winner.

He misunderstood the question in French and thought he was being asked to reveal the biggest winner of the night. Spike then told the event’s hostess to ask him questions in English so there would be no other mix-ups.

Ducournau became only the second female to take the prize and the first since Jane Campion for “The Piano” 28 years ago.

Meanwhile, Leo Carax picked up the coveted Best Director honour for his new Sparks musical “Annette“.

The film, starring Oscar winner Marion Cotillard and Adam Driver, opened the festival in France earlier this month (Jul21), and on Saturday (17Jul21) Carax topped the jury’s directors list.

Ryusuke Hamaguchi picked up the Best Screenplay prize for “Drive My Car” and Renate Reinsve and Caleb Landry Jones were named the Best Actress and Best Actor for “The Worst Person in the World” and “Nitram“, respectively.

Meanwhile, directors Nadav Lapid and Apichatpong Weerasthakul shared the Jury Prize for their films “Ahed’s Knee” and “Memoria“, and there was also a tie for the Grand Prize – Asghar Farhadi‘s “A Hero” and “Compartment No. 6” by director Juho Kuosmanen.

The full list of Cannes Film Festival Jury winners is:

  • Palme d’Or: “Titane“, director Julia Ducournau
  • Grand Prize: “A Hero“, director Asghar Farhadi & “Compartment No. 6“, director Juho Kuosmanen
  • Best Director: Leos Carax, “Annette
  • Best Screenplay: Ryusuke Hamaguchi, “Drive My Car
  • Best Actress: Renate Reinsve, “The Worst Person in the World
  • Jury Prize: “Ahed’s Knee“, director Nadav Lapid and “Memoria“, director Apichatpong Weerasthakul
  • Best Actor: Caleb Landry Jones, “Nitram
  • Camera d’Or: “Murina“, director Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic
  • Short Film Palme d’Or: “All The Crows in the World“, director Tang Yi

Source: Read Full Article