Johnny Mercer becomes 104th Tory against the Brexit deal

Ex-soldier Johnny Mercer joins ranks of over 100 Tory rebel MPs vowing to vote down May’s deal – but Corbynistas fear 20 Labour MPs could switch sides to back it 

  • Johnny Mercer will become the 104th Tory MP to declare against the deal later 
  • The tide continues to move against Theresa May ahead of Tuesday’s showdown 
  • Meanwhile around 20 Labour MPs are being monitored by Momentum activists 
  • There is suspicion they could defy Jeremy Corbyn to vote with the Government  
  • e-mail



Ex-soldier Johnny Mercer has joined the Tory revolt against Theresa May’s Brexit deal today

Ex-soldier Johnny Mercer has joined the Tory revolt against Theresa May’s Brexit deal today.

In a clear signal the PM’s hopes of winning the vote are still fading, Mr Mercer said the deal breaks Mrs May’s own red lines and is ‘not good enough’.

The Plymouth MP will condemn the deal during today’s third day of debate on the deal ahead of the showdown vote on Tuesday night.

In other developments today, it emerged as many as 20 Labour MPs are being monitored by left-wing Momentum activists in fear they could rebel and vote for the deal.

Every vote will count for Mrs May – but the list of possible Labour supporters is vastly outweighed by the 104 and rising Tories declared against.

In speech extracts revealed by The Sun today, Mr Mercer will tell the Commons: ‘To force through this deal, crossing her own red lines, speaks to a democratic deficit that I have always spoken out against, and must now oppose in the lobbies.’

  • May holds crisis talks with Cabinet as she stares down the… Boris Johnson makes a grovelling apology to MPs after…

Share this article

He will add: ‘Politics is ultimately about the people.

‘You cannot promise them that no PM would sign anything that treated Northern Ireland differently, and then do just that.

‘You cannot philosophise about free trade deals and then concede none are possible the moment we leave, as this agreement currently stands.

‘And chiefly you cannot sign up to making the UK a junior partner in a relationship they cannot unilaterally leave.’

It emerged as many as 20 Labour MPs are being monitored by left-wing Momentum activists in fear they could rebel against Jeremy Corbyn and vote for the deal

Possible Labour rebels are coming acute pressure not to give any aid to the Prime Minister as she fights for her political life, BuzzFeed reported. 

Which Labour MPs might vote for the deal? 

According to BuzzFeed, left-wing Momentum activists fear 20 Labour MPs could defy orders and vote for the deal. They are: 

Jon Cruddas

Nick Smith

Sarah Champion

Judith Cummins

Jim McMahon

Paula Sherriff

Mike Hill

Steph Peacock

Gareth Snell

Ruth Smeeth

Caroline Flint

John Mann

Kevan Jones

Ian Austin

Kevin Barron

Ronnie Campbell

John Spellar

Jim Fitzpatrick

Grahame Morris

Laura Smith

Labour sources have told MailOnline party whips believe the number of rebels on Tuesday night will be lower than 20 – but the number could rise in a second vote. 

These MPs include Ian Austin, Caroline Flint, John Mann, Gareth Snell, Ruth Smeeth, Kevan Jones, and Grahame Morris. Mr Austin and Ms Flint have indicated they could vote with the government to deliver Brexit for their Leave-voting constituents. 

The Prime Minister defied hardening opposition from Tory rebels and the DUP to make another impassioned plea for MPs to get on board with her plan.

She warned there is no other option on the table, and killing her proposal off would either end up with the UK crashing out of the EU – or Brexit not happening at all. 

In interview on BBC Radio 4’s Today programme, Mrs May said her fear was that ‘Parliament in some way frustrates Brexit’. 

The premier also confirmed that she is looking at ways to sweeten her blueprint for mutinous MPs – suggesting there could be a parliamentary ‘lock’ on the Irish border backstop arrangements coming into force. 

Asked repeatedly about calls from senior ministers to put off the Commons showdown on Tuesday, Mrs May said: ‘We are in the middle of five days of debate in Parliament which will lead up to a vote on this issue.’ 

Downing Street said Mrs May was discussing with MPs a ‘greater role’ for Parliament on the next steps as Britain goes through transition.  

Who are the Tory MPs who have indicated they will not back Theresa May’s Brexit deal?

40. Andrew Lewer, Northampton South

41. Nigel Mills, Amber Valley

42. Martin Vickers, Cleethorpes

43. Richard Bacon, South Norfolk

44. Philip Davies, Shipley 

45. Anne-Marie Morris, Newton Abbot

46. James Gray, North Wiltshire

47. Adam Holloway, Gravesham

48. Crispin Blunt, Reigate

49. Richard Drax, South Dorset

50. Philip Hollobone, Kettering        

51. Laurence Robertson, Tewkesbury 

52. Bill Wiggin, North Herefordshire, 

53. Pauline Latham, Mid Derbyshire 

54. Nigel Evans, Ribble Valley 

55. Scott Mann, North Cornwall 

56. Tim Loughton,East Worthing and Shoreham 

57. Zac Goldsmith, Richmond Park 

58. Robert Courts, Witney 

59. Michael Fabricant, Lichfield 

60. Michael Tomlinson, Mid Dorset and North Poole 

61. Damian Collins, Folkestone and Hythe 

62. Jo Johnson, Orpington 

63. Phillip Lee, Bracknell 

64. Heidi Allen, South Cambridgeshire. 

65. Justine Greening, Putney  

66. Dominic Grieve, Beaconsfield. 

67. Dominic Raab, Esher and Walton 

68. Esther McVey, Tatton  

69. Shailesh Vara, North West Cambridgeshire 

70. Rehman Chishti, Gillingham 

71. Ranil Jayawardena, North East Hampshire

72. Suella Braverman, Fareham 

73. Anne-Marie Trevelyan, Berwick-upon-Tweed 

74. Hugo Swire, East Devon 

75. Neil Parish, Tiverton and Honiton 

76. Steve Double, St Austell and Newquay 

77. Theresa Villiers, Chipping Barnet 

78. Royston Smith, Southampton Itchen

 79. Mark Pritchard, The Wrekin 

80. Grant Shapps, Welwyn Hatfield 

81. Damien Moore,Southport 

82. Daniel Kawczynski, Shrewsbury and Atcham

83. Lucy Allan, Telford

84. David Evennett, Bexleyheath and Crayford 

85. Anna Soubry, Broxtowe 

86. Rob Halfon, Harlow 

87. Bob Stewart,  Beckenham 

88. Gordon Henderson, Sittingbourne and Sheppey 

89. Stephen Metcalfe, South Basildon and East Thurrock 

90. John Baron, Basildon and Billericay 

91. Julia Lopez,Hornchurch & Upminster 

92. John Hayes, South Holland and The Deepings 

93. Sarah Wollaston, Totnes 

94. Guto Bebb, Aberconwy 

95. Tracey Crouch, Chatham and Aylesford 

96. Sir Michael Fallon, Sevenoaks 

97. Douglas Ross, Moray 

98. Derek Thomas, St Ives 

99. Sir Robert Syms, Poole  

100. Matthew Offord, Hendon 

101. Sam Gyimah, East Surrey

102. Mark Harper, Forest of Dean, 

103. Giles Watling, Clapton 

104. Johnny Mercer, Plymouth Moor View  


Source: Read Full Article