Wetherspoons announces more closures – full list of all 11 pubs shutting

Wetherspoons has announced the closure of 11 pubs following dozens more that have already shut their doors this year.

Each of them is expected to cease trading by the end of the year, meaning Britons could lose their local by Christmas.

Among those closing is a popular branch in the Welsh capital, Cardiff.

However, pub-goers who frequent The Ivor Davies will be pleased to know that the city’s seven other JD Wetherspoons will remain open for business as usual.

These include the Prince of Wales, The Great Western, The Central Bar, The Mount Stuart, The Ernest Willows, The Gatekeeper, and the Aneruin Bevan.

READ MORE: Next announces it will shut 11 ‘stores’ this year in latest blow to high street

Wetherspoons pubs closing in 2023:

  • The Pontlottyn, Abertillery
  • The Ivor Davies, Cardiff
  • Spa Lane Vaults, Chesterfield
  • The Gate House, Doncaster
  • The Market Cross, Holywell
  • The Regent, Kirkby in Ashfield
  • The Mockbeggar Hall, Moreton
  • The Hain Line, St Ives
  • The Sir Norman Rae, Shipley
  • The Sir Daniel Arms, Swindon
  • The White Hart, Todmorden

Don’t miss…
Chef shares ‘specialty’ chilli recipe with unique ingredient[REVEAL]
Boots to close five branches from UK high streets in two weeks – full list[INSIGHT]
Make ‘classic’ crumpets in less than one hour with Jamie Oliver’s simple recipe[INSPIRATION]

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Last year, the owner of the pub chain Tim Martin announced that 32 chains would be closing down after struggling with steep running costs and rising inflation.

It’s not all bad news though. The chain has still opened a few new sites and now boasts 822 branches across the UK.

Previously, the nationally-renowned pub chain operated 852 branches.

Wetherspoons pubs that closed this year:

  • The John Masefield, New Ferry
  • Angel, Islington
  • The Silkstone Inn, Barnsley
  • The Billiard Hall, West Bromwich
  • Admiral Sir Lucius Curtis, Southampton
  • The Colombia Press, Watford
  • The Malthouse, Willenhall
  • The John Masefield, New Ferry
  • Thomas Leaper, Derby
  • Cliftonville, Hove
  • Tollgate, Harringay
  • Last Post, Loughton
  • Harvest Moon, Orpington
  • Alexander Bain, Wick
  • Chapel an Gansblydhen, Bodmin
  • Moon on the Square, Basildon
  • Coal Orchard, Taunton
  • Running Horse, Airside Doncaster Airport
  • Wild Rose, Bootle
  • Edmund Halley, Lee Green
  • The Willow Grove, Southport
  • Postal Order, Worcester
  • North and South Wales Bank, Wrexham
  • The Sir John Stirling Maxwell, Glasgow
  • The Knight’s Templar, London
  • Christopher Creeke, Bournemouth
  • The Water House, Durham
  • The Widow Frost, Mansfield
  • The Worlds Inn, Romford
  • Hudson Bay, Forest Gate
  • The Saltoun Inn, Fraserburgh
  • The Bankers Draft, Eltham, London
  • The Sir John Arderne, Newark

Source: Read Full Article