Cricketer bizarrely dismissed for moment of madness not seen in 22 years as he is welcomed to 'exclusive club' | The Sun

BANGLADESH batter Mushfiqur Rahim has become the first Test cricketer to be given out for handling the ball since former England captain Michael Vaughan over 20 years ago.

Rahim was dismissed in bizarre circumstances on day one of his side's first Test against New Zealand in Mirpur, flicking the ball away after playing a defensive stroke against Kyle Jamieson.

The rebound did not appear to be heading towards the stumps when he intervened but, having seen him attempt a similar action in a previous Tim Southee over, the Black Caps immediately appealed.

He was given out after on-field umpires Rod Tucker and Paul Reiffel deferred to TV official Ahsan Raza, with the wicket officially recorded as 'obstructing the field' following a 2017 tweak to the laws that removed the 'handled ball' mode of dismissal.

Vaughan was the last Test batter to fall foul of that method during a 2001 clash against India in Bengaluru and was quick to show solidarity with Rahim.

Writing on X, formerly Twitter, he said: "Welcome to the very exclusive Handled ball club @mushfiqur15…only proper players are members…"

Read More on Cricket


Hidden room in stadium requires secret knock and is filled with beer and wine


Win a VW Golf R or £32,500 cash alternative from just 67p with our discount code

He later posted a clip of the incident and added "easily done".

Another Englishman, the great Sir Len Hutton, has stood as the only player to be given out for obstructing the field in Test cricket since 1951.

Rahim's lapse in concentration provided one of 15 wickets to fall on the day, with the hosts bowled out for 172 before New Zealand mustered 55 for five in response.

Only seven Test batters in history had been given out for handling the ball prior to the 2017 rule change.

Most read in Cricket


What did Mitchell Johnson say about David Warner?


Hidden room in stadium requires secret knock and is filled with beer and wine


Iconic ground where bikini-clad fans watch from swimming pool to be DEMOLISHED


Aussie cricket star facing ‘lifetime ban’ calls over ‘disgraceful’ viral image


Rahim's team-mate Mehidy Hasan Miraz suggested that the action was simply instinctive.

As per ESPN Cricinfo, he said: "It happened in the flow of the game. A batter has to take a split-second decision while at the crease. His hand probably went in the flow of his batting.

"He didn't do it intentionally. A lot of things happen in the back of your mind during a game. We got a time-out dismissal in the World Cup, so these things happen."

Source: Read Full Article