Watch Ajax score 'most ridiculous goal ever' after keeper's genius attempt to restart play awkwardly backfires | The Sun

THIS WAS the hilarious moment Ajax Women scored “the most ridiculous goal ever” after some quick-thinking from the opposition goalkeeper spectacularly backfired.

They travelled to Excelsior on Friday night for an Eredivisie clash that unexpectedly soon had fans around the globe talking about it.

Ajax forward Romee Leuchter’s brace had given the visitors a 2-1 lead as the game reached its closing stages.

And after her team were awarded a free-kick outside the area, the 22-year Netherlands forward stepped up to take it in search of her hat-trick.

Unfortunately for Leuchter, her effort went high up into the air before dipping at the last-second, resulting in it cannoning back off the crossbar.

However, Excelsior goalie Isa Pothof completely misjudged it and believed that it was going out of play.


Get £30 in FREE BETS when you place any amount on any sports market with Sky Bet

Former footballer who opened sex shops accused of robbing estranged wife

With her team chasing the game, she turned while the ball was still in flight to punch a spare one off the roof of the net and on to the pitch in order to quickly resume play.

But the live ball in play bounced down on to the pitch then span to take it across the line and hand Leuchter her treble to seal the 3-1 victory.

Ajax Women soon shared footage of the remarkable goal on social media and captioned it with: “You can’t stop us.”

The clip went viral quickly with over two million views in 12 hours.

Most read in Football


Ex-England youth ace, 23, loses cancer fight weeks after getting engaged


Bayern ‘planning for Tuchel’s exit with Madrid legend targeted as replacement’


Ten Hag hints at MORE problems with Sancho as he breaks silence on Man Utd exile


Inside Mason Greenwood and girlfriend Harriet Robson’s new life in Spain


And ruthless fans soon took to Twitter, with one saying: “The most ridiculous goal ever.”

Another tweet read: “The most bizarre goalkeeping I have ever seen.”

A third reply asked: “What was the goalie thinking… or forgot to!”

A fourth fan declared: “Well the category for most ridiculous goal of the season is already closed and wrapped up for 23/24.”

Fifa rules state that the referee has to halt the game should there be two balls on the pitch – but only if it is interfering.

And, seen as though nobody touched the live ball before it entered the net, the official made the right call.

Source: Read Full Article